Round 8: Floreat Athena 3 v 1 Sorrento FC

Floreat Athena stayed in touch with the top two thanks to a 3-1 win over Sorrento at E&D Litis Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

A first-half brace from captain Dean Evans was followed up by Phillip Arnold’s strike early in the second half.

Tim Hill’s tap-in was a consolation for the visitors.

Sorrento had a great chance early in the match when Jack Salter found himself through on goal, but his attempt rolled wide of the target.

Instead it was Evans who opened the scoring with an unstoppable volley from outside the box that sailed in via the crossbar.

A poor challenge from David Stokoe gave Floreat a chance to double their advantage from the penalty spot, which Evans took with a calm finish.

Arnold piled on the misery for the Gulls when he dribbled into the area and scored with a clinical finish low past the goalkeeper.

The visitors stuck to their task and Hill’s finish from a Cameron Teece header got them on the board.

Teece had a chance to get another one back for his side, but despite being unmarked the Sorrento talisman failed to make a substantial connection with his volley.

Despite the continued pressure from Sorrento – who had six players booked – Floreat managed to hold on and secure their third consecutive win in the league.

Star player: Dean Evans (Floreat Athena)

Floreat Athena: 3 (Evans 8min, 29’, Arnold 48’)
Sorrento: 1 (Hill 55’)

E&D Litis Stadium
Saturday March 4, 2019
Referee: Steven Gregory
Assistant referees: Mitchell Barrington, Liam Barclay

Floreat Athena: 1. Jason SALDARIS, 2. Marco SANTALUCIA, 4. Adrian MADASCHI, 5. Thomas JEBB (19. Luka NINKOVIC 35mins), 6. Jesse FULLER, 9. Robert PETKOV, 14. Ludovic BOI (20. Jack ANDREAS 90+1mins), 15. Chris SALDARIS, 17. Dean EVANS, 18. Phillip ARNOLD, 21. Nicholas AMBROGIO (3. Tristan COLLI 75mins) 
Unused substitutes: 12. Andreas FAZZAN, 23. Jordan BARBAS
Yellow cards: Madaschi 55
Red cards: Nil

Sorrento: 1. James MORGAN, 2. David STOKOE, 3. Jakub PRAJZA, 4. Shaun KILKENNY, 5. Scott ROBERTSON, 7. Alex MORGAN, 8. Scott WITSCHGE, 10. Jordan ROBERTS, 11. Tim HILL (17. Reece VITTIGLIA 60mins), 19. Jack SALTER (21. Elliot TATTERSALL 71mins), 23. Cameron TEECE 
Unused substitutes: 13. Steven MCDONALD, 18. Jordan BROWN, 60. Matt GUIDICATTA
Yellow cards: Stokoe 28’, Teece 28’, Robertson 33’, Prajza 46’, Roberts 66’, Vittiglia 75’
Red cards: Nil

Please Support our Sponsors & Partners

Deep Clean Australia